Where I Am From….

My 10 year old daughter wrote this for her class assignment a week ago or so. I was at Back to School parent night at her class, and saw the poems written by the class posted on the wall. I cannot say how proud I am of her and her ability to write as well as her maturity. It is moments like this that makes me feel I must be doing something right as a parent even if I don’t know what that is.

The poem has references to specific memories we share as family but also it has a lot of symbolism and metaphors for issues, perspectives and values that are so siginificant to me and our extended family’s heritage and histories.

Kids can be so smart and observant too. I hope the world gives them the place and space they deserve.

Here it is below:Potato Fan Gal

Word….

Word up, word’s out, stay low…my mommas

Leave a comment